A Sleep Over at the Museum

I love New York. Seriously. I love so many things about New York and I don’t get to visit as often as I would like. Heck, I would love to live there some day but I don’t have the money to do so.

Hall of Ocean life @americanmuseumofnaturalhistory

A few years ago I was searching for a unique experience in NYC for my son and I. He had been begging to go to the city for some time, so I thought an overnight there doing something he would enjoy would be a perfect birthday present. I searched and searched and came upon the American Museum of Natural History. Low and behold, they offered a sleep over experience! Based upon the movie A Night At The Museum, staring Ben Stiller, the American Museum of Natural History offered families opportunities to chill in the museum over night.

Score! I knew this would be the epic adventure that my son was hoping for – or at least in my head I had hoped it would. They have designated days that they allow for these experiences and space is limited. I had signed us up to go and couldn’t wait to have fun. I think it’s important, as a parent of multiple children that you take time with each child individually to share an experience with them, maybe not as grand as this one, but it’s important to give them one on one attention.

While this experience wasn’t cheap, I’m so glad that we had this time together. The look on his face, how his eyes got wide when we walked into the Hall of Ocean Life to set up our cot under the giant Blue Whale for the night, was a memory I will never forget. Even now, it brings tears to my eyes knowing that this experience will carry with him for a lifetime.

When you come off the subway you are there at the museum and a view of Central Park on the opposite side of the street – what a lovely view! After you plop your stuff off on your cot you can start exploring the museum. They have awesome scavenger hunts for the whole family to get involved in to really get out and about exploring the museum. And with all those families and the kids going semi-rogue – it is a bit loud and crazy. We explored everything! Take a look:

As we were wandering around we found ourselves in a quiet and roped off area of the museum. The area with dinosaurs at an entrance. We peeked our heads over the velvet ropes to see all we could see. A kind custodian asked us if we wanted to take a closer look and naturally, we said yes! He even took the time to stop and talk to us about the exhibit and allowed us to take some photos, too.

The night wound down with a midnight snack and a movie in their IMAX movie theatre – way cool! Then it was back to our cots to get on our jammies and lights out at midnight. Except, like many children, Peyton couldn’t sleep. You could hear the chitter chatter like crickets of the children who were still pumped up on adrenaline and talking their parent’s ears off. I didn’t mind. My son was having the time of his life and I was there right along with him.

In the morning, we packed up our bags and headed to the cafe for breakfast – nothing fancy, just muffins and yogurt, but it was enough to make this kiddo happy. The next morning we had free admission into the museum to see it during the day if we wanted to, except for some specific areas, but we took advantage of that before our train left the station.

I can’t say enough about how wonderful an experience we had at our Sleep Over at the Museum. Years later my son still talks about it and wants to go back – perhaps we will. Until next time NYC – thanks for the memories!

“Any day spent with you is my favorite day.”

-A. A. Milne

Leave a comment